NOTE: Login is only required if you wish to track your tickets.



 
Knowledgebase:
KB1060 - How do I reuse my course with a new intake of students?
Posted by Blair Friesen, Last modified by John Love on 16 November 2017 10:24 AM

Backing up and Resetting your Course

To reuse an existing course shell, BACKUP and then RESET the course as shown below.

First, BACKUP the existing course:

  1. From the main page of the course, click on “Backups” under the Administration Block
  2. Leave all settings as they are. Scroll down and click on [Next].
  3. Scroll down, again, and click on [Next], again.
  4. Scroll down, again, and click on [Perform Backup], again.
  5. WAIT, patiently, while the backup is processed. This can take several minutes, depending on the number and size of video, sound and image files you have in the course.
  6. The next screen will show “The backup file was successfully created.” Click on [Continue].
  7. You should now see a copy of your course in the form of a “.mbz” file, in the Course backup area. Check the day, date and time under the “Time” column to confirm that it’s there. If not, try the process again, or contact DL Support at eLSupport@vcc.ca or local 8764.
  8. Now, to keep an offline “archive” of the course, single-click on the “Download” link, located to the right of the file, to download to your computer or other storage location such as your department’s local drive.

Then, RESET the course

Resetting allows you to empty a course of user data, while retaining the activities and other settings. Please be warned that by following the steps below you will delete your chosen user data from the course forever! This is why you should make a backup, first! (See above for steps to backup a course.)

  1. From the main page of the course, click on “Reset” under the Administration Block.
  2. At the bottom of the page, click on the [Select default] button. <------- IMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Look over the options to decide if there are any default settings you’d like to change. In most cases, the default should be fine.
  4. Scroll to the bottom and click on [Reset course].
  5. The next screen will show the status of the reset.  Look it over for anything unusual. If you see anything questionable, make a note of it and contact DL Support at eLSupport@vcc.ca or local 8761.  Otherwise, if it looks OK, click on [Continue].  This will return you to the main course page, where you can now continue to work with the reset course.
(7 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)