NOTE: Login is only required if you wish to track your tickets.



 
Knowledgebase:
KB1060 - How do I reuse my course with a new intake of students?
Posted by Blair Friesen, Last modified by John Love on 27 April 2018 03:35 PM

Backing up and Resetting your Course

To reuse an existing course shell, BACKUP and then RESET the course as shown below.

First, BACKUP the existing course:

  1. From the main page of the course, click on “Backup” in the Gear icon under your user menu on the course's front page
  2. Leave all settings as they are. Scroll down and click on [Next].
  3. Scroll down, again, and click on [Next], again.
  4. Scroll down, again, and click on [Perform Backup], again.
  5. WAIT while the backup is processed. This can take several minutes depending on the number and size of video, sound and image files that are in the course.
  6. The next screen will show “The backup file was successfully created.” Click on [Continue].
  7. You should now see a copy of your course in the form of a “.mbz” file, in the Course backup area. Check the day, date and time under the “Time” column to confirm that it’s there. If not, try the process again, or contact eLearning Support at eLSupport@vcc.ca or local 8761.
  8. Now, to keep an offline “archive” of the course, single-click on the “Download” link, located to the right of the file, to download to your computer or other storage location such as your department’s local drive.

Then, RESET the course

Resetting allows you to empty a course of user data, while retaining the activities and other settings. Please be warned that by following the steps below you will delete your chosen user data from the course forever! This is why you should make a backup, first! (See above for steps to backup a course.)

  1. From the main page of the course, click on “Reset” in the Gear icon under your user menu on the course's front page.
  2. At the bottom of the page, click on the [Select default] button. <------- IMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Look over the options to decide if there are any default settings you’d like to change. In most cases, the defaults should be fine.
  4. If you only want to remove the Students from your course and keep the Teachers and Managers (this is most often the case), expand the "Roles" section and click on the "Student" role so that it is the only one selected in the list. (Otherwise, skip this step, and all users will be removed.)
  5. Scroll to the bottom and click on [Reset course].
  6. The next screen will show the status of the reset.  Look it over for anything unusual. If you see anything questionable, make a note of it and contact eLearning Support at eLSupport@vcc.ca or local 8761.  Otherwise, if it looks OK, click on [Continue].  This will return you to the main course page, where you can now continue to work with the reset course.
(11 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)